Posted in Random thoughts

Back In The Day


I was just sitting here thinking about how insecure and not confident I used to be. I was watching the movie “The Wood” and it took me back to that time. Junior High School. Back when schools were called Junior High School instead of Middle School. I was a wreck. Somehow, I got it in my head that I wasn’t good enough. That no matter how hard I tried or how much I did that it wasn’t good enough.

I didn’t like myself much at all. Then I started thinking about now. Now, I am so confident and secure. I am wondering how did I get from that point, of being a self-conscious, insecure wreck to the confident, secure woman that I am now.

It had to do with getting to know myself. What I would and would not accept from myself and others.

I observed those who I thought seemed to exude the confidence that I so badly wanted to have. I surrounded myself with people who had qualities that I felt that I needed to make what I considered a complete person. At the time however, I didn’t know that that was what I was doing. I only knew that I was attracted to what these people had.

Even though I was flying blind, you don’t have to. Learn from other people’s mistakes and experiences. I didn’t know how to do that. I didn’t even know what questions to begin to ask. Luckily, I’m here for you so you don’t have to.