Posted in Parenting/Being a mom, teaching

Congratulations Phillise!


My baby is so smart. She just told me that on her OCR assessment, she read 165 w.p.m. She’s only in first grade. I know this is because we read at least 5 times/week. I will continue. I am having her tested for Gifted/High Ability for entrance into a school I want to transfer her to next year.

Once again, Congratulations Phillise, you smart little girl!

Posted in teaching

I Didn’t Do It! or (Exhausted Me!)


Yesterday, I meant to explain why I took down the post that I wrote, but I was so totally and completely exhausted that I came home, laid on the couch and did not get up until this morning.

The reason for writing the post was the reason why I was so exhausted. I really need some vitamins to give me energy because this kid has plenty of it and is not going to stop doing what he’s doing anytime soon. That is why I need to be ready- emotionally, mentally, and physically.

You have to give it to this kid. He is very, very good at what he does!

So, on to what I was going to post yesterday. I really meant what I said, but the vein in which I said it was so mean spirited that I simply could not leave it up. I was so embarrassed by how mean I sounded when I read it. I deleted once I calmed down. That was the first time in over a year and a half that I have done that. I have always stood behind my posts, but I did not stand behind that one. I acknowledge that I was very angry- anger is a very honest emotion- but I just did not want that post associated with my name.

I rarely get angry, but when I do, I don’t like myself much. I remind myself of that picture book, “When Sophie Gets Angry.” I was so angry yesterday when I wrote that post that I could actually feel the anger returning when I was reading it. That’s when I knew that that post had to be deleted. So, that’s what I did.

That post had so much negative power. It reminded me of George Orwell’s “1984”. For those of you who didn’t read my post or “1984,” be glad! Until next time people!