Posted in book reviews, teaching

Things That are Most in the World by Judi Barrett


things-that-are-most-in-the-worldThings That Are Most in the World (1988), written by Judi Barrett and illustrated by John Nickle, was a great book. It was really silly; which is exactly what I like. I used this book to introduce superlatives to my students and they totally got it.

The book begins by telling the readers what the wiggliest thing in the world is. Do you know what it is? Why, it is a snake ice-skating, of course. Next, we’re introduced to the silliest thing in the world, which, of course, is a chicken in a frog costume.

Then next thing that readers are introduced to is the quietest thing in the world. Why, it’s a worm eating peanut butter, of course. If you would like to know what other –est word is used, well, I guess you’re going to have to read it and find out for yourself.

My students got a kick out of this book. They thought it was kinda’ funny. I did too.  I would give this book *****/***** because it introduces superlatives in a funny, simple way. There is even a page at the end of the book that can be photocopied and used in class.

The _______________est  thing in the world is _____________.

If you’re introducing superlatives to your students, pick this up. If you like silly books that are also educational, you’ll like this one; your students will also.

Posted in teaching

Students vs. Subs (It’s Like Oil & Water)!


I have a problem that I need help with. I know that most teachers have this same problem. I need to know how to fix this problem because I am running out of subs willing to take care of my class when I am absent. Just like most classes, my students behave so badly. Even students who don’t usually misbehave.  My problem seems to be that my students don’t trust anyone to understand them. Maybe I’ve done too good a job at earning their trust. I really need a solution to this problem because, as I stated above, there are not many subs willing to take over my class when I’m absent. Help!