Posted in humor

Guess How Smart I Am?


Well, guess!! I am so smart that I went to the library and checked out some books. No, that’s not the guess how smart part. The guess how smart part is when I fell asleep in one of those comfy chairs while waiting for David, Phillise, Calvin, & Chloe to finish on the computers and check out their books, and left one of the books that I just checked out in the chair. Yeah, smart, I know!

I called the library, but the librarians couldn’t find out because of the shift change. So, now I have to file a lost report or something like that.

I am, however, not going to leave this matter in the hands of the library system. The last time I did, I ended up paying $20.50 for a book that I didn’t lose. When I return to the library on Thursday, I am going to look for it.

So, until then, I hope I don’t do something too smart! Bye for now!

Posted in teaching

The CST Scores Are In!!!


My school just received our preliminary CST test scores, and they are very good. I am extraordinarily proud of my students. They did such a great an excellent job.

I’m talking about my students having an average +58.2 point gain in English/Language Arts, and an average gain of +57.5 points in Math.

I’m not sure if wrote about crying last year because one of my students could not distinguish between the plus & the minus sign. Well, he finally did, and I am happy to report that Lil’ Man jumped +91 points in ELA and +56 points in Math. How’s that for progress and learning the difference between the plus and the minus signs.

While some of them are still Far Below Basic (FBB), they have made significant gains to be on their way to Proficient (P) or Advanced (A) (which is the goal). This is very significant. My students can finally be looked at as students, instead of just Special Education students. Yaaaaaaaaaaay for my students!!!!!!!!!

Another thing is that I am really proud of me. Me. The same me who I thought was so incompetent during the year. The same me who cried most of last year. The same me who beat myself up so bad, and nearly drove myself into the ground. The same me who had stomach flu twice, and walking pneumonia (and didn’t even know it) because my body broke down when I thought that I could not possibly survive another day. The same me, who, though I knew that I could do it, still had serious doubts.

I am sooooooooo happy! Here’s to continued success this year!

** I don’t know how, but I forgot to mention that one of my other students, Marry, gained +96 points in math to go from a Far Below Basic to a Basic**

Posted in teaching

About The CSTs!!!


The California Standards Test. What is it? It is the test given by the state of CA.

If you’ve ever read the results and didn’t understand what they meant, here’s an explanation:

  • FBB-(Far Below Basic- the lowest)
  • BB- (Below Basic)
  • B- (Basic)
  • P- (Proficient)
  • A- (Advanced- highest level)

These tests are a thorn in some people’s side. There are so many educators who don’t think that these are necessary. I am one of them. Why do I count myself among them you ask?

As a Special Education teacher, most of my students are at FBB because of their lack of reading skills, they’re English Learners (EL), different disabilities, etc. There are myriad reasons why their scores are low. The bottom line is they’re in sp. ed. for a reason; and in the lower grades, it’s usually because something’s lacking with their reading skills.

That’s why I count myself among them because I am a Special Education teacher. Most of my students just learned to read last year. In the 3rd and 4th grade! Yet, they are held to the same standards as General Education students.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think that they should get special treatment in every area, just some. If they don’t know how to read, how are they supposed to answer the question? If I were allowed to read the questions to them, that would be so much easier. But, believe me when I say that that my students overcompensate in many areas. Those students who struggle with reading are very verbal; they are very good conversationalists.They can answer the questions, but they just can’t read them. Hence the special treatment that I think they should receive.

The scores are due in any day now. I am very hopeful that my students (and the school, of course) did well. We’ll see!!!