Posted in teaching

Well That Didn’t Work…


What was it that didn’t work? It was my retoolling of my schedule. In trying to make the classroom a better place for my students I tried going back to my old methods from last year. I cut down on the strict schedule. Instead of being so regimented and scheduled, I gave them time to talk and move around like I used to last year. Can you guess what the result was?

It was total chaos. There were about 4 fights today. I don’t know how, but I somehow forgot that last year the students fought so much because there was so much unstructured time. During this past 3 1/2 weeks of school, there had only been 2 fights in the classroom. Today, that number doubled.

I tell you what, tomorrow I am going back to my totally scheduled way. I will do this until I find a happy medium where they are on a schedule and they’re having fun. Until then, I will stick to my schedule posted earlier in the week that barely gives them room to breathe. They may not have had much fun, but there was not chaos in the class and they were definitely learning.

I’ll keep you updated as the situation progresses. Until then, here’s to continued success!

Author:

I am a 53 year old empty nester, mother of four adult children, ages 22-34, and grandmother to two (River & Dakota) who's currently... figuring me out!

Leave a comment